12 different verb tenses

In English, there are 12 different verb tenses. This gives the English language richness of expression. It can communicate thoughts using subtle nuances of meaning. This valuable asset of course can be confusing for those beginning to learn English as a second language. 

Tense is used to communicate the time an event took place. The different tenses are identified by their associated verb forms.

In English, you have 3 main tenses. These are present, past, and future tenses. Then within these are four main aspects. Each tense can have simple, perfect, continuous, and perfect continuous. The continuous is sometimes called the progressive tense.   To create the perfect tense, you use the verb 'to have' and to create the continuous you include the verb 'to be'. 

There are three main tenses: past, present, and future.

In English, each of these tenses can take four main aspects: simple, perfect, continuous (also known as progressive), and perfect continuous. The perfect aspect is formed using the verb to have, while the continuous aspect is formed using the verb to be.

If you find this difficult to understand you should download the Blabla Live app from the Google store or Apple. It is a free app that gives you access to thousands of learning videos created by native English speakers. Here are free chat rooms where you can enter and speak English to your heart's content, practising your conversation. There are lessons you can join free of charge.  Finally, if you want personal 'one on one' tutoring with a native speaker it is available.